Saar – in bulk and not

I’m still busy with lots of sorting and a little bit of soaking – more info on this in my next post.  I’m now working on the Saar, a former bone of contention for the Germans and French with a varying history of its nation status and the country to which it “belonged”.  I don’t often see stamps from the Saar in my random piles of worldwide stuff, but I have found two separate eBay lots of stamps from the Saar from a favourite German seller over the years.  One lot, seen below, was a fine collection of both mint and used with some light duplication.  This is perfect for me, as it gives me a good pile of stamps for my own collection and it also gives me some stock for future trading.  I would guess that there are somewhere around 100-150 different issues that are duplicated here, so I will have a nice start on a list of stamps available for trade.

One stockbook containing mint Saar stamps ...

One stockbook containing mint stamps from the Saar …

... and a second stockbook containing used Saar stamps.

… and a second stockbook containing used stamps.

Separately, I found a box of off-paper stamps in bulk from the Saar.  A very bulky bulk, at that.  Almost 400 grams of heavily duplicated stamps from only two definitive series.  That means that I will have a few issues in huge quantities, so for these stamps, it will be extremely easy for you to find something to trade that I will be happy to take since I have so many copies of these stamps from the Saar that I am eager to trade.  These off-paper stamps are very clean – you can see the work in progress, containing a large pile of stamps ready to go into storage and tiny piles of other stuff (one single stamp with gum, one single stamp that needs soaking but is damaged, a small handful of stamps that go into the soaking pile).

Used Saar stamps being sorted.

Used stamps from the Saar being sorted.

Because this lot is so clean, I am rapidly working my way through it and it won’t be long before I start on the next batch of stamps.  Looks like a box of over 500 grams of off-paper Channel Island stamps (Guernsey, Jersey, Isle of Man) is up next – lots more interesting stuff to move into the trading pile in the future.

Leave a comment